40 Under 40 Data Scientists

Recognizing Young Data Scientists in India

40Under40 is an attempt towards recognizing the leading data scientists in India who have successfully transformed data into meaningful insights. The award recognizes India’s young Data Scientists and leaders who are supporting the growth of analytics in their organisation, have deep industry and analytics expertise and are addressing the insights gap for clients by addressing their most complex challenges.

Send Nominations

This prestigious award brings together the brightest leaders in the Data Science field in India and celebrates their achievements. These young scientists are the driving force behind Data Science field in India and its their vision that is shaping the Indian Analytics Landscape. This award recognizes and distinguishes the data scientists, the real innovators and achievers of analytics industry and separates them from the rest of the crowd. Nominees are carefully reviewed and selected by our team of editors and industry veterans.

2021 nominations are CLOSED. Winners will be recognized at the annual Machine Learning Developers Summit 2021 to be held in FEBRUARY 2021 VIRTUALLY.

40Under40 award recognizes and celebrates dynamic data science leaders who, through their unique analytics strategies are delivering tangible business impact and have fostered a data-native culture. As data scientists, these visionaries are creating an environment that is inspiring and innovative. These individuals — the most prominent data scientists in the industry have demonstrated considerable expertise in implementing Analytics in innovative ways to drive business insights and enable growth.

Nominations for 40Under40 can be submitted by individuals, CXOs, head of Analytics, internal or external PR representatives. After being reviewed by our editors, each application would be evaluated by a jury comprising of industry experts, academicians, business heads and CAO’s.

For the 40Under40 award, nominees should be currently serving as Data Scientist and have at least 5 years of experience. Along with significant career accomplishments, the individual inducted into the awards would have delivered substantial business impact, technology vision and inspirational leadership. S/he would have demonstrated expertise in building new business models based on data assets, significantly advance the data scientist role, create a positive influence on the analytics ecosystem in India and contributed to the growth of analytics industry in India.

Send Nominations

2020 Winners

Mary Eapen – Associate Manager, Analytics at Absolutdata Research & Analytics Solutions Pvt. Ltd.

Indrajit kar – Manager-Tech sol plan and Enablement manager at Accenture

Madhav Kaushik – AVP, Client Solutions and Products at Analyttica Datalab K V

Vijay Girish – Technical Lead at Belong

AASHISH PRAKASH – Managing Director at BlackRock

Deepika sandeep – Senior Program Manager – AI and ML at BLP Clean Energy

Arjun V Shenoy – Director – Solutions at BRIDGEi2i Analytics Solutions

RAJESH DEVASIA – Director Advanced Analytics at Course5 Intelligence

Deepak Chandrakant Patil – Data Scientist at Envestnet|Yodlee

Sai Hareesh Anamandra – Senior Data Scientist at Global AI Accelerator at Ericsson Global India Pvt Ltd

Archana S – Manager at EY

Bhavesh Bhatt – Data Scientist at Fractal Analytics

Prakash Selvakamar – Assistant Vice President at Genpact

Ankur Shah – Cloud Analytics Architect / Manager at IBM

Samarth Bharadwaj – Research Scientist at IBM Research India

Krishna Kumar Tiwari – Architect at InMobi

Vibhuti Agrawal – Director – Product Management at Innovaccer Analytics Pvt. Ltd.

James Macwan – Manager – Analytics at JSW Steel Limited

Pradeepta Mishra – Lead Technical Architect- AI at L&T Infotech

Dr. SUNIL KUMAR CHINNAMGARI – GM – Engineering Innovation at Maersk Technology Center

Prathamesh Prakash Karmalkar – Principal Data Scientist & India Lead – NLP, Text Analytics & AI at Merck Life Sciences

Aparna Kulkarni – Senior Manager, Data Science at Michelin India Private Limited

Biddappa Muthappa – Manager – Data Science at MIQ digital India

Ritesh Mohan Srivastava – Associate Director – Data Sciences at Novartis USA


Abhishek Kumar – Senior Manager, Data Science at Publicis Sapient

Anish Agarwal – Director – Data & Analytics at Royal Bank of Scotland

Sibanjan Debeeprasad Das – Data Scientist at ServiceNow

Vijay Pravin Maharajan – Data Analytics Expert at Siemens Germany

Karan Shah – Director – Analytics at Swiggy

Srivatsa Kanchibotla – Senior Partner at TheMathCompany

Karthik Ragunathan – Director – Data Science at Tiger Analytics

Shashikiran PB – Principal, Supply Chain at Tredence Inc

Abhinav Bhatnagar – Data Scientist, Lead at Truecaller

Anubhav Srivastava – Head – Data Sciences and Analytics, Digital Ventures at Viacom18 Media

Dr. Prakash PKS – Associate Principal at ZS Associates

Suvadip Chakraborty – Lead Assistant Vice President, Analytics at HSBC


Manish Bajpai – Manager (Analytics and Insights) at TCS

2019 Winners

Saurabh Khanna – Vice President at Bank Of America

Senthil – Senior data scientist at Cholamandalam investment and finance ltd

Jacob Joseph – Lead Data Scientist at Clevertap

Zabi Ulla S РSr. Director – Advance Analytics & Data science at Course5 Intelligence

Satya Gautam Vadlamudi – Head of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence at CreditVidya

Navneet Kumar – Manager at CVENT

Ravi Shukla – Senior Advisor, Data Science, GBS Performance Analytics Group at Dell EMC


Ruble Joseph – Associate Vice President – Lead, Advanced Analytics Center of Excellence at eClerx

Shibsankar Das – Senior Lead Data Scientist at Envestnet | Yodlee

Chirag Jain – Assistant Vice President at Genpact

Asadullah Ansari – at Harman International Industries, Inc

Sunil D Patil – Senior Data Scientist at IBM INDIA PVT LTD

Avi Patchava – Vice President – Data Sciences and Machine Learning at InMobi Technologies Pvt. Ltd

Deepika Goel – Director at JLT Group

Shantanu Bhattacharyya – Data Scientist at Locus

Pradeepta Mishra – Chief Data Scientist at Lymbyc Solutions Pvt. Ltd.

Sonny Laskar – Associate Director – Automation & Analytics at Microland

Rahul Gupta – Associate Vice President & Head- Pricing & Data Science at OYO

Dr. Sunil Kumar Vuppala – PRINCIPAL SCIENTIST at PHILIPS Research India

Akshay Kulkarni – Senior Data Scientist at Sapient

Sanjeev Sharma – Founder, Director and CEO at Swaayatt Robots

Dr. Indrajit Mandal – Head, Cognitive Centre of Excellence, Cognitive Business Operations, TCS at Tata Consultancy Services

Shrey Srivastava – Manager – Marketing Analytics at UBER (India)

Jayanta Pal – Staff Data Scientist at Zendrive Technologies

Rajat Narang – Director, Absolutdata Labs at Absolutdata Research and Analytics Solutions Pvt. Ltd.

Pawan Gupta – Co founder and CEO at Betterhalf.ai

Dipyaman Sanyal – Founder-CEO at dono consulting


Viswanath Reddy (Vishy) – Head of Innovation at Tibil Solutions

Aswani Yeraguntla – Director – Analytics Solutions & Platforms at Tiger Analytics

Ranajoy Bose – Solution Engineering Manager at Oracle

D.BINU – Managing Director at RESBEE INFO. TECHNOLOGIES Pvt. Ltd

Sanjay Thawakar – Vice President at Max Life Insurance

Manish Khandelwal – Engineering Manager – Data Science at MiQ Digital Ltd

Raj Koganti – Head-Data, Analytics & Pricing at Acko General Insurance Ltd

Krupal Modi – Machine Learning Head at Haptik

Ashwini Agrawal – Director at BRIDGEi2i Analytics Solutions

Raman Shrivastava – CEO and AI Lead at Marax AI Inc